SU Podium Forum
Sign up Calendar Latest Topics
 
 
 


Reply
  Author   Comment  
adammcgovern81

Avatar / Picture

Registered:
Posts: 35
Reply with quote  #1 
Maybe not the appropriate forum, but worth a shot. 

The issue I'm having, is that every single time I open SketchUp, it forces me to agree to the "Software End Use License Agreement", then it forces me to select a drawing template before clicking the button 'start using sketchup'.  Even if I uncheck the box that says "always show on startup", it still forces me to do this every time. 

Once in Sketchup, I have to load what toobars I want, position them where I want them, etc. If I were to close SketchUp at this point, and re-launch, it is supposed to remember all of these settings, but it doesn't.  I have to go through this process every time I open the program.  It also forgets my podium paid browser license and user key info every time I close down.  SketchUp does remember rendering portion of Podium, so I don't have to re-enter my info for that, but just the browser.

Any clues what could be causing this?
JustinSlick

Avatar / Picture

Moderator
Registered:
Posts: 491
Reply with quote  #2 
I'm not sure why SketchUp is asking you to choose a template every single time, but there is a trick to getting the Podium Browser license to save if for some reason it isn't sticking.

In the Podium Browser options box, enter your license and click save. 

The options box will close, but re-open it and then just click save again.

Saving it a second time seems to solve the issue with Podium Browser not remembering the license key.


__________________
What's New in SU Podium?
What's New in Podium Browser?
davew

Moderator
Registered:
Posts: 1,700
Reply with quote  #3 
If you are using SketchUp 2018 on Windows, all the SketchUp preference info. is saved (including Podium Browser license) here:
C:\Users\xxxxx\AppData\Local\SketchUp\SketchUp 2018\SketchUp\PrivatePreferences.json
It's possible that this file is being deleted  by some Anti-Virus or anti-malware program.

Or it's possible that you do not have write privileges to the the above folder for some reason.

If you are on the Mac, both PrivatePreferences.json and SharedPreferences.json are saved to /Users//Library/Application Support/SketchUp 2018/SketchUp.  Maybe that file is getting deleted as well or you do not have permission to save to that folder.
Previous Topic | Next Topic
Print
Reply

Quick Navigation:

Easily create a Forum Website with Website Toolbox.