SU Podium Forum
Sign up Calendar Latest Topics
 
 
 


Reply
  Author   Comment   Page 4 of 4      Prev   1   2   3   4
Builder2010

Registered:
Posts: 60
Reply with quote  #46 
Not sure how this worked. I went on Analysis, but wasn't able to decipher what I was experiencing. Remember, it's crashing as soon as I click on the item in the Browser. It never gets to the point where I'm actually rendering anything. It also crashed when I clicked on the gear icon. I did get it to render, but did so without loading the granite stone texture for the counter top. Is there any way to go back to the previous version of Podium?
bigstick

Avatar / Picture

Moderator
Registered:
Posts: 10,765
Reply with quote  #47 
Exactly which category/material are you having trouble with?

I tried downloading materials in the Tiles Granite and I couldn't get a crash.

__________________

That which does not kill us makes us stronger
-Friedrich Nietzsche

tnunezc

Registered:
Posts: 16
Reply with quote  #48 
Hi guys, 
I'm having the same problem with SketchUp crashing after I click an item on the Browser. As far as I can tell If I recently opened my model and opened the Browser for the first time it may not crash, and if I don't close the Browser to place the item I can download something else. I may come back to download the same item after I re-open the model and it may download just fine. 

The Browser is quite slow, and I used to like being able to continue where I left off after downloading and closing the page. Now you have to start over from the Homepage.

And finally, Sketchup crashes every time if I open the Options menu for a second time.

I have Sketchup 2017, SU Podium V2.x Version: 2.6.017 and Sierra 10.12.6

Best regards, 
Tatiana N
bigstick

Avatar / Picture

Moderator
Registered:
Posts: 10,765
Reply with quote  #49 
V2.6 is still in beta, therefore it is not complete and not everything may work as expected - have you downloaded the latest version?
__________________

That which does not kill us makes us stronger
-Friedrich Nietzsche

edson

Avatar / Picture

Persistent Master
Registered:
Posts: 776
Reply with quote  #50 
Hi guys,

After a long time I am back to rendering and am glad to see Podium going ahead.

I installed 2.6 beta and started playing with it. One thing I noticed immediately is that nothing appears in the HDR window, unlike what I saw in the video. I am attaching an image of it.

Regards.

Edson  Screenshot 2019-04-05 17.36.38.png 


__________________
--
edson mahfuz
architect | porto alegre, brasil | http://www.mahfuz.arq.br

If you do not believe that less is more, anyone can get you more for more, but it takes genius to get you more for less.
bigstick

Avatar / Picture

Moderator
Registered:
Posts: 10,765
Reply with quote  #51 
Looks like an incomplete install. It's still a beta, we still have some things which aren't working yet.

It worked fine on one of my Macs, but on the other, I can't display the HDR tab at all, and OOPR won't open. On the other one it works better. Which version of SU and OSX are you running?

I am on Mojave.

We are awaiting an updated build for Mac.

__________________

That which does not kill us makes us stronger
-Friedrich Nietzsche

edson

Avatar / Picture

Persistent Master
Registered:
Posts: 776
Reply with quote  #52 
Other than what I described, I have not found any problems.

I am running Sketchup 2018 (18.1.1180) and High Sierra (10.13.6). I am using 2018 only for this beta, since it does not run on 2019.

Mojave has been known to cause some trouble in some setups.

__________________
--
edson mahfuz
architect | porto alegre, brasil | http://www.mahfuz.arq.br

If you do not believe that less is more, anyone can get you more for more, but it takes genius to get you more for less.
tnunezc

Registered:
Posts: 16
Reply with quote  #53 
Hello,
This happens when you have the SketchUp camera set in two-point perspective, try orbiting a bit and see if the HDR appears. 
Regards,
TN
edson

Avatar / Picture

Persistent Master
Registered:
Posts: 776
Reply with quote  #54 
Yes! You are right. It works fine now.
__________________
--
edson mahfuz
architect | porto alegre, brasil | http://www.mahfuz.arq.br

If you do not believe that less is more, anyone can get you more for more, but it takes genius to get you more for less.
meitme

Registered:
Posts: 5
Reply with quote  #55 
Yeah I'm getting a pretty terrible crashing problem: I can open the Podium settings dialogue only once per Sketchup session- if I try to re-open the settings box then SU crashes out completely. It will also sometimes crash SU when I select some items from the browser (which I still find too slow: the old version was so much quicker).
I have run 2.6 on another machine before which didn't crash at all, so I know it's not inherent in the software but something causing a problem on this machine.

I would like to see a fix to the issue of Podium's failed renders: Podium just does this too much- rendering the wrong angle or failing to render properly at all. I've had this on various machines so I know it's a problem with Podium itself. Will this be addressed in the final 2.6 build?
bigstick

Avatar / Picture

Moderator
Registered:
Posts: 10,765
Reply with quote  #56 
You haven't mentioned whether it's Windows or Mac.

If you have problems on one particular machine, it's likely to be a conflict or configuration issue specific to that machine, unless the operating system is different.

We can't debug individual installations but we can give you some pointers. First of all have a look at the SU plugins you have installed. Try disabling those first.


__________________

That which does not kill us makes us stronger
-Friedrich Nietzsche

meitme

Registered:
Posts: 5
Reply with quote  #57 
It's a Mac, yes; running SU 2017 on OSX 10.14.4 - the other Mac (my office machine) I ran it on was the same and it was much more stable so, as I said, it's something I have on this one which is conflicting, yes. It may be coincidental, but I can't help feeling that the whole machine is running hugely slower since installation too.
When you say disable the plugins you mean to switch them off in Extension Manager? I've just turned off everything but Podium (including with the Podium Extras both on and off) and it still crashes out when I try to open the render settings for a second time. I may have to go back to 2.5: shame as the HDRI was very handy for a project I have been working on.


What is the plan regarding the failed renders i.e. where Podium renders the wrong view or does not complete the prerender correctly? I'm sure we've all got that infuriating experience where we find a weirdly dark render with the camera facing along one of the axes instead of our nicely positioned shot before? [smile] Seems to happen to me about 40% of the time and it's a massive timewaster: will this be corrected for 2.6 please?
Here's an example of one from earlier today attached; the camera has changed angle (it's pointing along the green axis I think) and the lighting has gone wrong- I'm not sure I could make an HDRI do that if I tried! [smile] I had these on at least three different machines I've run Podium on over the years, different versions. I couldn't see a thread about it but I can't be the only one.

Also, can the Render All feature be updated? It's a great idea, but it seems to send the scene off to be rendered sometimes before SU has had a chance to change the scene, so the render is of a different angle, or just the same scene over and again. To be honest, a lot of the time I just get a list of failed renders like the one below. It's very frustrating when against a deadline. Thanks.

Attached Images
jpeg podiumerror.jpg (92.30 KB, 6 views)

bigstick

Avatar / Picture

Moderator
Registered:
Posts: 10,765
Reply with quote  #58 
2.6 is a beta, and problems are expected. I also get the occasional render where the camera is pointing the wrong way. This is an issue with v2.6. We've had issues with black renders periodically, but we did some work on this last year and they should be pretty much fixed.

We need to identify exactly what causes issues in order to fix them and as yet we haven't isolated the circumstances of the camera pointing the wrong way problem.
Black renders were caused when you initiated a new render in SU while a scene was being rendered.

I tend to restart OOPR if there's an issue. That tends to fix everything.

I'm not sure if disabling the plugins is the same as temporarily removing them from the plugins folder.

Podium simply cannot make your entire machine slower.

It may also be that you have a conflict with some other software or a driver. Even on the Mac, periodically you get weirdness like this. Since upgrading my 3D Connexion Spacemouse (a great piece of hardware once you get used to it) driver my Mac won't shut down properly, and the device no longer works. It moves the mouse...



__________________

That which does not kill us makes us stronger
-Friedrich Nietzsche

Previous Topic | Next Topic
Print
Reply

Quick Navigation:

Easily create a Forum Website with Website Toolbox.